About NTSE Lakshadweep Exam, & Selection procedure

About NTSE Lakshadweep Exam, & Selection procedure


About NTSE Lakshadweep Exam, & Selection procedure   

National Talent Search Exam-


National Talent Search Exam or National Science Talent Search Scheme was launched in 1963 by NCERT with an aim to identifying the talented students and grant them with a scholarship to pursue their further education. The NTSE exam is a two-tier/stage exam where candidates are tested for their Mental, Language and Scholastic abilities. The stage 1 exam of NTSE is conducted by the respective state or UT only and the stage 2 exam is conducted by National Council of Educational Research and Training. The candidates who are shortlisted for this two-tiered examination are awarded as many as 1000 scholarships every year. Only Class X students are eligible to appear for NTSE.

NTSE 2018 Reservation Criteria:

The NCERT awards scholarships to around 1,000 students based. As per the criteria fixed by the NCERT, the various reserved categories will receive the scholarship in the following manner:

  • As per the NTSE Norms, there is a reservation for SC and ST candidates. The quota for SC and ST students is 15% and 7.5%, respectively. However, only those candidates who score minimum qualifying marks under this category will be eligible for the scholarship.
  • For physically challenged students, there is a reservation of 3%.

NTSE 2018 Exam Pattern:

The examination pattern for NTSE Exam Pattern 2018 has been described below-

1. Stage 1 –

  • This stage will be conducted at the state and UT level which consists of 2 parts – MAT or Mental Ability Test
  • LAT or Language Aptitude Test
  • SAT or Scholastic Aptitude Test

Stage 2 –

The pattern of this stage of the exam is given below

Paper Test No. of Questions No. of Marks Exam Duration (in mins.)
Paper- I MAT 50 50 45
Paper- II LAT 50 50 45
Paper- III SAT 100 100 90

Further, it must be noted that the in stage 1 paper, the candidate will get 1 mark for every correct answer and there will be no negative marking. However, in the stage-II exam, for every wrong answer, 1/3rd marks will be deducted.


NTSE, Maharashtra Stage 1, Cut-off:

  • General-  110.13.
  • SC- 86.93.
  • ST- 77.19.

Center Address-

Maharashtra – I (District’s)

1. Akola

2. Aurangabad

3. Bhandara

4. Buldhana

5. Dhule

6. Jalgaon

7. Mumbai

8. Mumbai (North)

9. Mumbai (West)

10. Nashik

11. Raigarh

12. Ratnagiri

13. Sindhudurg

14. Thane

15. Washim

Kendriya Vidyalaya Bhandup

N.C.H Colony LBS Marg Kanjurmarg (W)



Maharashtra – II (District’s)

1. Ahmednagar

2. Amravati

3. Beed

4. Chandrapur

5. Gadchiroli

6. Gondia

7. Jalna

8. Kolhapur

9. Latur

10. Nagpur

11. Nanded

12. Nandurbar

13. Parbhani

14. Pune

15. Sangli

16. Satara

17. Solapur

18. Usmanabad

19. Wardha

20. Yavatmal

Kendriya Vidyalaya BEG

Near Deccan College Road

Near Sadal Baba Darga, Yarwada